The Bodyguard – Up close with Whitney

whitney

The time had come. This would be the closest I will ever get to a Whitney concert. I could not wait!!! The Bodyguard is a West End musical based on the stunning film starring Whitney Houston and Kevin Costner at The Adelphi Theatre, Strand.

I spent the entire day leading up the show listening to The Bodyguard soundtrack; I Will Always Love You, I Wanna Dance With Somebody, One Moment in Time. Absolutely notorious songs! Then, of course I had to go to Siam (see other reviews) to have a lovely warming Thai Green Curry – great start to the evening!

I was lucky enough to get tickets to the show for half the price at just £25 each – bargain! Even better, halfway through the show we got to move forward as the theatre wasn’t very full – we were practically front row!

It made me laugh, it made me cry. Beverly Knight played a convincing Whitney and she touched me in so many ways. I could relate to every song in more way than one. Costuming and staging was done flawlessly and were essential in executing the story line.

I was gutted when the show was finished, though the cast did not disappoint with an uplifting encore of I Wanna Dance With Somebody. We had a dance, a sing and clapped along to the beat. It was the perfect finish to what is quite an intense musical.

I will never forget this musical as long as I shall live – the entire night was perfectly unforgettable! Definitely a favourite of mine and a must for everybody to watch!

Leave a Reply

