New Years Resolution: The Monthly Sacrifice

sacriice3

“New Year, New Me”

I’ve heard that phrase far too much over the past few days in the lead up to 2014. I’m going to be honest, it is far too big a challenge to change yourself for an entire year. The likelihood is, it won’t happen, so ultimately, you’re setting yourself up for failure before you even start!

For as long as I can remember, I have spent my New Year’s Eve vowing that this will be my last chocolate, I will exercise harder and get back to my adolescent size 6 figure and I will stop drinking. But alas, I always fail at the first hurdle. 12 months is a daunting commitment, it’s like running a marathon without any prior training!

Therefore, this year I decided to do it differently – ladies and gents, welcome The Monthly Sacrifice. For each month of 2014, I will give up one thing.

I’m not doing this to lose weight, or to make myself feel healthier, I’m doing it because I have everything I could need in life and I am incredibly blessed. It’s incredibly rare that I have to sacrifice anything in life. By sacrificing different things throughout the year, I hope to be more appreciative of what I have, learn more about myself, my willpower and discover what I really deem essential to my happiness.

I invite people to join me in the venture, you can give up whatever you want! My list is as follows:

January: No alcohol

February: No chocolate

March: No sweeties

April: No cake

May: No crisps

June: No tea or coffee

July: No shopping

August: No social media

September: No eating out

October: No gym membership

November: No nights out

December: No bread

These are provisional depending on my habits throughout the year, but for now, this is the plan! If you are joining, let me know and we can motivate one another! Alternatively, follow the journey on my Facebook and Twitter! #TheMonthlySacrifice

Lets do this. Happy New Year all!

8 thoughts on “New Years Resolution: The Monthly Sacrifice

  1. I love this idea! Broken down into months makes it much easier to achieve and much more realistic too I’m definitely going to try this, not sure about the no social media month though I may have to change that one ๐Ÿ˜€ great post ๐Ÿ˜€ x

    1. I’m glad you like it! Spread the word – I need as much motivation from others as possible – ESPECIALLY for giving up social media, that’s going to be a killer month! Just followed you, looking forward to seeing how you get on!

  2. Thank you so much for the follow.
    Follow you back on bloglovin.
    Btw,I’m also on Instagram,maybe you like my account?
    Lovely greets from germany ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

