Croatian Adventure – Day Four

Again we awoke to the beauty of Croatia, bright and early, the birds tweeting and the sea calm as can be!

We had to catch the ferry at 12:30 so we decided to get  a leisurely breakfast (ice cream – the best ice cream ever) and relax whilst we waited. The ferry took us to the island of Kolocep – a smaller island with less cars and less tourists than Lopud. It was quaint, but I’m not sure we could have stayed there long!

The day started off leisurely, we sea kayaked to the edges of the island, we swam – it was lovely! Then there was the perfect opportunity for a stunning photo! As part of this process, I decided to take off my wetshoes. What followed was dramatic:

I threw my shoes to Carly, missed and they landed in the water. ‘No worries’ I thought and posed for the picture!

I then lowered myself into the water to retrieve them.

I got them!

Then my sunglasses fell off my head and I lent back to catch them, kicking the wall and feeling a really deep cut through my foot. I returned to the rocks convinced I’d cut myself on a sharp one. Turns out, I stood on a sea urchin. Not pretty ladies and gents! We asked the locals what to do… they said pee on it. So we kayaked off to a deserted area and I peed in a bottle, then poured it on my foot. I can vouch, it doesn’t work. I still have sea urchin spines in my foot to this day! I’m also not sure the photos were even worth it…

My first word of warning for Croatia: always wear wetshoes!

After a quiet cocktail we made it back to Lopud at roughly 6pm. A quick shower, change and hack at my foot and we were on the vino again! (it helped with the pain) As we drank we watched the sunset from our balcony. It’s enough to take your breath away!

We went to our favourite restaurant on the island. The waiter was called Sacha and greeted us with a cherry liquor on the house!

After a boozey meal, he then surprised us with free chocolate cake, declaring that we must thank the chefs personally. So we did…

 

 

Leave a Reply

